Arrangement > The olive tree and its oil

THE OLIVE TREE AND ITS OIL Come to visit the exhibition market of the extra virgin olive oil in Cappella Maggiore. You may try the unique experience of visiting a 20th century historical market, live the rural and artisan traditions and taste the typical products of the Treviso foothills of the Alps. The cultural association “La Ruota” has organised the market exhibition of the extra virgin olive oil for 7 years. This initiative stemmed from the desire to promote the plantations of olive trees in the territory, which are important for environmental and aesthetic functions, for the agricultural economics and for their renowned health properties .
Numerous exhibitors, coming from different Italian regions and from other countries such as Slovenia, Croatia, and Greece, will take part in the market exhibition; however this event is also a good occasion to taste food and wine products that are typical of that area. As a scenery of the event, the association “La Ruota” will mount a real performance of an early  20th  century market.  The local people, who will be dressed with old costumes, will lead the visitors through a special “road of memories”, so that they may experience the ancient trades and the ancient games for children. In the main square, an area will expose and show trades and markets as they used to be where it will be possible to buy local craft products.
This year the manifestation is richer than ever with a photographic exhibition on the Cansiglio forest “Cansej madre foresta” and a folkloristic band. Thanks to the collaboration of the local restaurateurs, wine and food stands will be open for the whole duration of the event. Especially for that occasion, they will propose creative menus, in order to valorise the oil of the oil mill “Reitia” of Cappella Maggiore.   
 


ANNEN DRIFTSINFORMASJON
The event is organised in collaboration with the cultural association “La Ruota” and it will take place throughout the whole day on the 2nd june. The participation is free, as no ticket is needed. The cultural association “La ruota” was founded in 2007 in Cappella Maggiore, which is a village placed at theTreviso foothills of the Alps, on the slopes of the Cansiglio Forest.
The purpose of the association is to promote the typical products and the local customs on the territory, though its own cultural events and those at which it takes part. The association mounts historical evocations of ancient trades of the typical and local craft, such as the manufacture of wrought iron, wood, ceramic and the working of local agricultural products. In order to recall the atmosphere of that age even more realistically, the local people wear local and traditional costumes and deligh all the visitors with an evocative and suggesting experience. Among all the activities of the Association, the most important to quote are  the Ancient Fair of  Godega and the market exhibition named “L’olivo ed il suo olio” (this one is organised by it-self). The aim of the Association “La Ruota” is to promote the local customs on the territory, by representing historical evocations of the ancient trades of the typical craft of the Veneto region. The carpentry and the manufacture of wrought iron are especially performed through the methods and techniques used in the early 20th century. Therefore the final purpose is to raise in the new generations the awareness about their own origins interactively, giving the young the opportunity to experience the ancient traditions.
  • PIAZZA VITTORIO VENETO, 40
    CAPPELLA MAGGIORE (TV)

COMUNE DI CAPPELLA MAGGIORE


Cappella Maggiore, with a population barely reaching 5000 people, lies in a rural territory, which is exploited for olives cultivations and dotted with ancient villages and the famous “Ville Venete”. The name of the village dates back to the first Chapel Campestris, namely the  magnificent church of Mattarella. Today it is still possible to visit that church, which is famous for her frescoed walls. 
Bedriftskontakter
PIAZZA VITTORIO VENETO, 40
31012 - CAPPELLA MAGGIORE (TV)
+3904389321 WWW.COMUNE.CAPPELLAMAGGIORE.TV.IT
Annen informasjon
The origins of the name “Cappella Maggiore” are to be found in local presence of the ancient church “Chapel Campestris” also named church of Mattarella, which was built by the catholic population of “Agrimanni”, better known as Lombards and dedicated to the Holy Trinity. The appellation of “Maggiore” (literally “major”) dates back to the following millennium, more precisely in 1867, when a royal decree approved the name of “Cappella Maggiore”. The origins of the name Anzano, namely the only small village of Cappella Maggiore, are controversial. According to some researchers, it might derive either from the Greek word “antro”, which means flower, either from an ancient local landowner named “Antius or Antianus”. 
The first settlings go back to the 10th century B.C., to the age of the Veneti first and the Celts later. Their presence on the territory is marked today by the preservation of some ancient traditions like the one of the famous “Panevin”. This latter is a kind of propitiatory bonfire, which lights the cold night of the 5th January and marks the beginning of the Celtic year. The first residential complex goes back to the roman age, around the 4th-5th century A.D. centuries.Nowadays, the traces of this hegemony are still evident in the names of some small districts as “Borgo Villa”, and “Borgo Gava”, also called “Borgo sciavi”.  Since 500 A.D. the territory has been invaded by barbaric populations and finally conquered by the Lombards in 568 A.D.  These ones finally integrated with the local populations; this fact had such a strong influence on the local toponymy and onomastics, that it is still visible today. In the 9th century the devastating Hungarians invaded the area.  In 1154 the Lombards granted the territories of Alto Cenedese, Serravalle, Anzano and Cappella Maggiore as fief to the famous Da Camino, a Lordship coming from Treviso, which retained the territories until 1335. Following the dead of the last heir of the Seigniory, the Bishop and Count of Ceneda took control over the area, before selling it, as fief to the Republic of Venice. They remained under the domination of Venice until 1797, when Napoleon sold the Serenissima Republic to Austria. Since that moment Cappella Maggiore and Anzano were aggregated to the district of Serravalle. In 1815 the Austro-Hungarian Government merged the two villages in a single municipality. In 1866 the Italian troops entered the territory, which was then annexed to the Reign of Italy.  Owing to its strategic position near the Cansiglio Forest, Cappella Maggiore was largely involved in the First World War, when the Austrian troops invaded the territory after the disastrous defeat of Caporetto of 1917, and in the Second World War, when the partisans hided in the mountains while trying to overtook the Nazi-Fascist government.   In 1945 a fascist murdered the priest of the village Don Brescacin, to whom is dedicated the monument which is today placed in Vittorio Veneto square. 
Kalender Expo Veneto

Dato for arrangement

Klikk på ønsket dag for å legge den til dine arrangementer.

1 Dato IKKE ledig 1 Ledig dato 1 Interessedato