Dogodek > A charming historic house in Venice: Foundation Querini Stampalia and its Museum.

A CHARMING HISTORIC HOUSE IN VENICE: FOUNDATION QUERINI STAMPALIA AND ITS MUSEUM. The sumptuous residence of the Querini family is one of the most important and best preserved examples of a House-Museum in Europe, where the ancient collections with their precious furniture, paintings, porcelain and sculptures create an unbreakable bond with the magnificent frescoed rooms. The House-Museum open to the public since 1869 tells us stories of taste, tradition and culture that reflect the daily life of Venice, a unique city.
Today, the Museum offers the public a historic house that preserves the atmosphere of the past, while opening the door to events, concerts and exhibitions of both ancient and contemporary art.
The ancient collection consists of paintings, furniture and precious furnishings that accompanied everyday life, personal relationships, work, culture of the Querini family.
14th-century Neo-Byzantine tables and Renaissance masterpieces such as "The Presentation of Jesus in the Temple" by Giovanni Bellini are juxtaposed to the portraits by Sebastiano Bombelli, the small paintings by Pietro Longhi, the scenes of the Venetian public and private life by Gabriel Bella, and to the large portrait by Giambattista Tiepolo.
Truly unique is the collection of decorative art objects, furniture, globes, porcelain, musical instruments, antique clocks, along with Venetian sculptures and Flemish tapestries.
The Museum also houses a magnificent Sèvres table service enriched by biscuit centerpieces, bought in Paris in 1795-96 by Alvise Querini, the last ambassador of the Venetian Republic in France from 1795 to 1797. In the dining room you can see the table set for eight, with knife plates, soup and appetizer dishes, sauce boats, butter dishes and compote bowls. The service, which consists of 244 pieces and is still perfectly intact, has a variety of shapes, perfect gilding, fine decoration, pure and accurate colors, clear and bright paint.
Thanks to recent donations from individuals, the Museum's collections have been enriched by works of the 19th and 20th centuries, which together with the works of contemporary artists contribute to making it a place "alive" in which past and present are in constant dialogue.
The guided tour of the Museum also includes the restoration by Carlo Scarpa, achieved from 1959 to 1963, based on a measured combination of new and old and on a great skill in the use of materials. Water is the protagonist: from the canal on which the building overlooks, it enters through bulkheads running along the interior walls; it is present in the garden, in a large basin with multiple levels of copper, cement and mosaic and in a small canal at the end of which are two labyrinths carved in alabaster and Istrian stone.
At the Palazzo Querini Stampalia, the work of the great master of the Italian 20th-century architecture focuses on four themes: the bridge, which is the lightest arc junction built in Venice in the last centuries; the entrance with the barriers of defense against flooding; the portego and the garden.
The building also hosts prestigious exhibitions, conferences and seminars that can be held either in the old or modern rooms, in the auditorium designed by Mario Botta or in the garden of Carlo Scarpa.
A charming library with furniture from the late 19th century offers its ancient and modern collections to students and scholars every day until midnight and on Sundays.
 


DODATNE OPERATIVNE INFORMACIJE
Tuesday to Sunday, 10/18
closed on Mondays
Ticket 10 / 17:30
for information
www.querinistampalia.org
museo@querinistampalia.org

Bookshoop
Tuesday to Sunday, 10/18
closed on Mondays

Querinicaffè
Tuesday to Sunday, 10/18
closed on Mondays

No pets are allowed (of any size) in the headquarters building of the Foundation
 
  • Fondazione Querini Stampalia, S. Maria Formosa, Castello 5252
    Venezia (VE)

FONDAZIONE QUERINI STAMPALIA ONLUS


The Fondazione Querini Stampalia hosts a Library open until midnight and on holidays, and a Museum where furniture and works of art from the 14th to the 20th centuries convey the atmosphere of a patrician residence.
On the ground floor of the sixteenth-century building there are the area restored in 1963 by Carlo Scarpa and the recent work of Mario Botta which make visible the profound renewal of the Foundation.
A unique set that offers functional spaces for cultural and special events.

 
Poslovni Stiki
S. Maria Formosa, Castello 5252
30122 - Venezia (VE)
+390412711411 www.querinistampalia.org
Dodatne informacije
Palazzo Querini Stampalia, a few steps from Piazza San Marco, is considered one of the most interesting architectures in Venice.
Its history is linked to the Querini family, and particularly to his last descendant, Count Giovanni, who in 1868 bequeathed to the city of Venice the entire family assets: real estate and personal properties, books and art collections, all for public use.
In his will, he determines, for this purpose, the creation of an institution capable to promote "the cult of fine studies and useful disciplines" and open as much as possible, but especially when the other cultural institutions are closed.
In 1869, after his death, the palace became the seat of the Foundation, where a library, a museum and an area for temporary exhibitions are set up.
The Library has general topics and makes available to the public more than 350,000 volumes, of which 32,000 are directly accessible in the reading rooms, which are open until late at night and even on holidays. The oldest part of its collections consists of manuscripts, incunabula and 16th-century editions, ancient atlases and maps, which together with the family archives provide valuable historical documents to the scholars.

On the second floor the House-Museum, with the 18th century and neoclassical furniture, porcelain, biscuits, sculptures, globes and paintings from the 14th to the 20th centuries, conveys the atmosphere of a patrician residence with its mirrors and Murano glass chandeliers and fabrics woven on antique patterns. A journey through the history of Venetian art from the Renaissance of Giovanni Bellini to the Settecento of Giambattista Tiepolo, Pietro Longhi, Gabriel Bella.

The architectures of Carlo Scarpa, Valeriano Pastor and Mario Botta are the most visible signs of the contemporary approach to the 16th-century palace, where the comparison between different languages and the contamination between the different art forms are routinely sought in the events proposed to the public.
Carlo Scarpa achieves from 1959 to 1963 the well known restoration of the ground floor, which is based on a measured combination of modern and antique features and on a great skill in using materials typical to the Venetian tradition. Scarpa designed the bridge and the entrance, with the barriers of defense against the high tide, the noble staircase to the first floor, the portego and the garden.
From1982 to 1997 Valeriano Pastor designed works of consolidation and general reorganization of the building, but also specific interventions. The attention to the details of a door, or of a covered walkway, is the assimilation of Carlo Scarpa's example, revisited and returned in an original way. The pivot of this reorganization is the vertical connection housed in the space of a 19th-century staircase no longer in use. Pastor's achitectural insert gives the necessary unity to the articulated system of the Foundation.
The Italian-Swiss architect Mario Botta designed the new service area around a beautiful indoor court on which the Cafeteria and the Bookshop windows overlook. The Court also leads to the Auditorium, that completes this unique, complex and flexible place where ancient rooms next to modern spaces provide a stimulating setting for individual study and cultural initiatives.

 
Koledar Expo Veneto

Datumi dogodka

Kliknite na izbran dan in dodajte k svojim dogodkom.

1 Datum NI na razpolago 1 Datum na razpolago 1 Datum dogodka